5 Signs You Have What It Takes To Be A Successful Entrepreneur!

21 Jan

 

Starting your own business can be a life changing experience, but how do you know if you have what it takes to go the distance and build a successful company? Yes, you need passion, determination, persistence, and the ability to bounce back from the unexpected that would give the Michelin Man pause. However, there are some subtle personality qualities that nearly all successful entrepreneurs share and if you have or are thinking of starting your own business it might be a good idea to see if you are a part of this selective group. So let’s take a look at 5 of the most common traits of successful entrepreneurs.

1. You are always looking for what’s next.
When most people reach a goal they think, “I did it! Time to sit back and enjoy it for a while.” An entrepreneur thinks, “Great, what’s next?” A dear friend of mine is mega author Debbie Macomber. When she first started out she wrote one book that turned into a series, which turned into several, that turned into a hit movie made for television, which turned into her own television series. Debbie has taken the opportunity to build a few of the storybook businesses that are the backdrop for her books into actual businesses that her corporation owns in the little town where she lives and she has plans for even more enterprises. Entrepreneurs like Debbie Macomber don’t stop with one big achievement. They’re always looking forward to their next challenge.
2. You have control issues.
It has taken me awhile, but many years ago I made a conscious choice to strike a balance between closely monitoring the inner workings of my business and letting the talented people who work for me, do what they do best. It turns out I am not alone. It seems quite a few of my friends who are also business owners have been confronted with the same challenge. It is important to be fully aware of what is going on within your company. However, most control issues are based in some sort of fear, and fear can be a death sentence to most businesses. Hovering over every aspect of your business can become detrimental to getting things done and impede creativity and innovation from your staff. It can also stress out employees, who have been brought on precisely so you don’t have to make each and every decision. If you fall into this category it may give you some comfort to know that both Steve Jobs and Bill Gates have been described at one time or another as control freaks.

3. You are fiercely determined!
As an entrepreneur, you’ve got to love hard work, long hours, and be willing to take a lot of risk. Understanding that 75 percent of new businesses fail, only an entrepreneur who is unbelievably determined will knowingly and eagerly face those kind of odds. In the beginning you will struggle financially and work unbelievably long hours. You might even feel a bit lonely, because while everyone else is out enjoying their evenings and weekends, you will be toiling away, usually on your own determined to overcome your next hurdle and reach your next goal.

4. You started early.
Generally speaking entrepreneurs show an innovative interest in making money at a young age. As a youngster I pestered my parents to allow me to work in berry fields, caring for children, even as a life guard at a local community pool so I could have money of my own. Like many entrepreneurs, as time went on I became less driven about the money and more driven by freedom, independence, opportunity for unbridled creativity, and the ability to operate my own company at a higher level of integrity than the business owners I had worked for. Eventually, my driving force became focused on how I could offer the best quality products and services in my industry to my customers.

5. You don’t fit the mold.
Many entrepreneurs describe themselves as not fitting in with the crowd. While it’s not always easy to be the outsider, thanks to notable entrepreneurs such as Bill Gates, Arianna Huffington, Sir Richard Branson, Sheryl Sandberg, and Coco Chanel, we now generally recognize that the ability to see things from a different point view from the rest of the world is an attribute that can help move society forward and drive innovation. None of these individuals would strike you as socially comfortable. In fact, nearly all of then identify themselves as introverts. It is this quality that tends to make them better listeners, a key asset in leadership and a successful business.

If you identify with any of these classical characteristics chances are you may be a natural entrepreneur. Share your story and which attribute you most closely identify with. Then tell us about your business and remember to include a link to your website.

One Response to “5 Signs You Have What It Takes To Be A Successful Entrepreneur!”

  1. Sydney Marisa January 21, 2015 at 8:45 am #

    The article is so true and one can never be so close to perfection as this.

    I closely identify with 1, 3 and 4. I started selling sweets at school when I was in grade 3 or 4 thereabout. I trapped mice and birds that I used to sell to the local folks as well as my teachers! (I grew up in a rural set-up by the way). In high School I was a “professional photographer”. When I got to the city, I did vegetable vending; sold second hand clothes; offered private tuition & coaching classes; sold stationery. I contributed quite significantly to my tertiary education.

    My entire working life (formal employment) has been a whooping 9 years spanning over 3 different companies! (19 months, 8 months and six years).

    In 2009 I gave up my white collar job as a money market dealer with a local bank and opted for a voluntary retrenchment package. I learnt the art of company registration and simple tax administration; and before I knew it I had a reasonable client base. The process of servicing my clients, gave birth to Stanlim Business Solutions.

    Armed with attribute 3, I did not look back in the face of financial, social and professional adversity.I suspended my studies when I was on the final stage of CIS (yet to resume)…and now that I am safely out of the murky waters of start-up hurdles, attribute No. 1. is in full force.

    However, the final product line was God-given. I never planned it, my initial business plan is still in a cupboard somewhere! I woke up decided to pursue clothing manufacturing and since then, we manufacture and distribute top quality promitional T-shirts, golf shirts, corporate wear, work wear, school uniforms and sports wear.

    We also do computerized embroidery, screen printing, heat pressing and we are currently in the process of setting up a lithographic printing and branding sister company to Stanlim.

    …and to imagine that is all coming from someone who was considered excess baggage somewhere! I embraced rejection that came from the familiar people and built a relevant network – and the net is now working for me!

    Visit http://www.stanlim.co.zw or our facebook page on Stanlim Business Solutions.

Leave a Reply

